glass half full

glass half full

image

This blog is full of fun, exciting, and happy things about our daughter Selah. Great pictures, smiling faces and good memories. When exciting things are happening I want to snap a shot or write a blog to share about my little girl. When she is crying, up late, or leaking out of her diaper I try and fix the situation rather than advertise it.
image

The past few months have had me thinking a lot about social media and how people paint a picture of themselves and how they want to be perceived. I am as ‘guilty’ as any for wanting people to think I have things put together and that my baby is wonderful. Once realizing the facade I put up I have felt guilty and wondered how I should use be using social media. Should I complain all the time and talk about how my life sucks so people will know my life is not perfect but instead give me sympathy or think I am funny (even though it is kind of funny sometimes)?
image

This is still something I wonder and struggle with but here is my conclusion so far.

I want to be an optimist. I want to remind myself of the best parts of having a baby. I want my blog to be a place where Selah can look back to see parents who were proud of her accomplishments instead of burdened by her. I want others to know that we love our baby and are proud of who she is.
image

There are still hard parts of parenting. Selah is not always smiling and cute. There are sleepless nights. There are grumpy days (for her and me). There are times I just want to do my own thing instead of caring for another person. Life is not perfect and the glass is definitely not overflowing. But instead of focusing on these things and concentrating on how hard parenting is I want to focus the half of the glass that is full. I want to focus on what fills me up instead of what drains me. If you somehow think I have the perfect baby or the perfect life I want to remind you that I don’t. If you think that parenting is a hard job you are right. But if you think that I am going to focus on the bad instead of the good then you are wrong.
image

I will continue to use this blog and other forms of social media to remind myself and others that parenting is one of the most rewarding jobs in the world. To remind myself that I have an adorable baby. And to remind myself that God has given us the most beautiful gift in the form of Selah.

image

Leave a Reply

